Categories: Associated British Ports, ESPO, EuropePublished On: 10.07.2018427 words2.2 min read

The ESPO secretariat has received four submissions for the 10thedition of the ESPO Award.

Under the theme “Ports as a good work environment for everyone”, the ESPO Award 2018 will award the port authority which has an innovative approach to promote the wider port area with its businesses and companies as an attractive work environment for everyone around the port looking for a new career. Doing this, the port authority helps to bridge the gap between supply and demand for employees in the port sector, by demonstrating how the multiple needs for labour force in and around the port match the diversity of the profiles of people living around the port. Difference should be an asset, never an obstacle.

ESPO members could send their applications until last Friday. The following four port authorities have applied for the ESPO award 2018: Associated British Ports (United Kingdom), North Sea Port (Belgium/The Netherlands), Ports of Rotterdam (The Netherlands) and Tallinn (Estonia).

To promote the efforts made by different European ports to enhance the city-port relations through innovative projects, ESPO decided in 2009 to give out an annual ESPO Award on Societal Integration of Ports. After the two first editions, it was decided to focus each year on one different aspect of societal integration.

This year’s theme also fits with the initiative launched by the European Commission at the end of 2017 to create the ‘EU Platform for Change – Women in Transport’. ESPO has been among the founding members of this Platform. ESPO has also been a partner in the Sectoral Social Dialogue Committee for Ports since its establishment in June 2013. The Committee meets three times a year, dealing with social issues and challenging developments in the port sectors, with the aim to contribute to the sector’s competitiveness while creating and retaining good jobs.

The ESPO award winning port is selected by an independent jury of international experts, under the Chairmanship of Pat Cox, former President of the European Parliament and TEN-T coordinator.

The winner will be announced at the ESPO award ceremony and dinner taking place on 7 November in Brussels. This year, the ESPO award ceremony will also mark the celebration of the 25thanniversary of ESPO.

Previous winners of the Award are the Port of Gijón (2009), the Port of Helsinki (2010), the Ports of Stockholm (2011), the Port of Genoa (2012), the Port of Antwerp (2013), the Port of Koper (2014), the Port of Dublin (2015), BremenPorts(2016) and Guadeloupe Ports Caraïbes(2017).

Guadeloupe Ports Caraïbes is the winner of the ESPO Award 2017

Related documents


Source: ESPO (, 6 July 2018