Categories: a-port-information, BusinessPublished On: 13.12.2018591 words3 min read

IAPH launched the World Ports Sustainability Program (WPSP) in March 2018 to demonstrate global leadership of ports in contributing to sustainable development. The program is based on the 17 Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations and is structured along five themes:

  1. Resilient infrastructure
  2. Climate and energy
  3. Safety and security
  4. Community outreach and port-city dialogue
  5. Governance and ethics

The WPSP features a project portfolio, which aims to be the most coherent and up-to-date global database of port related projects on sustainable development. Through the portfolio, ports worldwide can raise awareness about their ongoing work on sustainability, share their experiences and provide inspiration.

To encourage its members to use the portfolio and to reward best practices,IAPH transformed its existing award scheme in six ‘World Ports Sustainability Awards’, featuring five project awards linked to the WPSP themes that are open to all members and one specific award for member ports in developing countries.

Next to the award scheme, IAPH maintains its scholarship programmes for ports in developing countries and for empowerment of women in the port sector.

What are World Ports Sustainability Awards?

The IAPH World Ports Sustainability Awards have six categories. Five are linked to the themes of the World Ports Sustainability Programme and are based on projects that members submit to the WPSP online portfolio. The sixth category is reserved for member ports from developing countries and takes the form of an essay contest. The award is named ‘Akiyama Award’ in honour of the late Toru Akiyama, who was one of IAPH’s founding fathers.

Who evaluates your entry?

An international jury, consisting of independent experts, will evaluate the entries for the six award categories.

Who participates?

Project Awards:

  • Any port that is a regular member of IAPH or any associate member acting on behalf of an IAPH member port as client, partner or collaborator, which has started or completed a sustainability project that has a demonstrable positive impact.
  • Collaborative projects involving several member ports are encouraged.
  • The project must correspond to one of the five WPSP themes and the specific focus area for each theme set out in these Terms of Reference.
  • The project must be submitted to the WPSP portfolio by 15 February 2019, using the online project form:

Akiyama Award (essay contest):

  • Individuals employed by IAPH regular member ports in the following countries: Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Liberia, Morocco, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Togo (‘low or lower middle income’ countries as defined by the World Bank, June 2018).
  • The essay must correspond to one of the five WPSP themes and the specific focus area for each theme set out in these Terms of Reference. It must demonstrate how the author’s port is contributing to the theme and focus area.
  • The essay must be submitted by email to the IAPH secretariat by 15 February 2019: [email protected]
  • The essay must be drafted in English, not exceeding 2,000 words in length, (maximum five pages in A4 size, but excluding illustrations, images, charts, bibliography, etc.) It must be drafted in Microsoft Word. Essays submitted in any other format will not be accepted.
  • Essays must be accompanied by a separate page, containing: title of essay, name of author, full contact details, position held at the port, WPSP theme and focus area, Word count of the essay, and brief summary of the essay indicating what it tries to achieve, identify and solve.


Deadline?: 15 February 2019


For full details, please click here!