Categories: BusinessPublished On: 08.12.2022800 words4.1 min read


London, UK, Thursday 8th December 2022: The Seahorse Freight Association recognised excellence in journalism across the transport and logistics industry at its annual awards ceremony, held for the first time in four years and attended by over 160 guests, in London, UK yesterday.

Prizes were awarded in ten categories including maritime, air, overland, technology, multipurpose, and supply chain journalist of the year, as well as rising star, news, feature, and journalist of the year.

Seahorse awarded its Personality of the Year Award to Valeria Ihnatenko from Antonov Airlines and its Lifetime Achievement Award to Portcare International’s Peter Owen, a past chairman of Seahorse.

“It is great to be back after four years, and we are so pleased to have received over 120 high-quality entries from journalists all over the globe specialising in different sectors for this year’s awards,” said Emma Murray, Seahorse Chair, and Founder and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Meantime Communications.

“But we must not take that great reporting for granted. It is time we energised as a community to actively encourage the NextGen of writers to join our industry.

“And the Seahorse community is in a unique position to do just that.”

Murray said the Association, which recently registered as a not-for-profit organisation run by a new committee, was inviting ideas to help encourage new reporters to join the industry.

Winning reports appeared in titles including Wall Street Journal, The Loadstar, Lloyd’s List, TradeWinds, Heavy Lift and Project Forwarding International (HLPFI), Journal of Commerce, Logistics Manager, FreightWaves, S&P Global, Drapers Magazine, and Port Technology International.

The awards were judged by 22 industry professionals from across the globe and drawn from all transport modes, as well as supply chain, technology, public relations, and journalism.

The panel included a 50/50 split of men and women, and a range of ages and experience.

The independent judging panel did not include any sponsor representatives, and no Seahorse Committee members took part.

“We hope that by including so many different professionals, we have not only ensured a robust and fair judging system, but also shone a light on the incredible and diverse industry that we work in and, by doing so, helped to inspire young professionals already in the industry, or curious about joining,”

said Murray.

The Awards were backed by sponsors including AAL Shipping, who took the lead sponsorship, as well as Associated British Ports (ABP), the TT Club, Alliance Ground International (AGI), American Bureau of Shipping (ABS), Lloyd’s Register, Rock-it Global, Awery Aviation Software, Kale Logistics Solutions, Davies Turner, International Association of Ports and Harbours (IAPH), and Inmarsat.

The Seahorse Awards have been running annually for over 30 years and recognise and celebrate the best writing across the industry.

Seahorse was launched in 1962 with the aim of bringing together journalists, PR companies, and industry thought leaders in a relaxed environment to network and grow business.

This year, Seahorse has relaunched as a not-for-profit organisation with a new committee, including Emma Murray, Founder and CEO, Meantime Communications, Annie Roberts, Divisional Director, DVV Media International Ltd, Alex Lennane, Publisher, Journalist and Director, The Loadstar, Sue Terpilowski, Managing Director, Image Line, and Russ Green, Managing Director, RTG Communications.

To find out more, please visit:

Full list of winners below:

Journalist of the Year

Highly Commended: Iain MacIntyre, Freelance/Boardroom

Winner: Richard Meade, Lloyd’s List

Sponsored by: Lloyd’s Register

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Peter Owen

Personality of the Year

Winner: Valeria Ihnatenko

News Journalist of the Year

Highly Commended: Greg Knowler, Journal of Commerce (S&P Global)

Winner: Constantinos Paris, Wall Street Journal

Sponsored by: Kale Logistics Solutions

Feature Journalist of the Year

Highly Commended: David Kershaw, Heavy Lift & Project Forwarding International

Winner: Phillip Hastings, Heavy Lift & Project Forwarding International

Sponsored by: ABP

Air Cargo Journalist of the Year

Highly Commended: Eric Kulisch, FreightWaves

Winner: Megan Ramsay, Freelance

Sponsored by: Alliance Ground International

Maritime Journalist of the Year

Highly Commended: Max Lin, S&P Global

Winner: Felicity Landon, Freelance

Sponsored by: ABS

Congratulations Felicity from everyone at Compass!

Overland Journalist of the Year

Highly Commended: Nick Savvides, The Loadstar

Winner: Greg Knowler, Journal of Commerce (S&P Global)

Sponsored by: Davies Turner

Supply Chain Journalist of the Year

Highly Commended: Isabella Fish, Drapers

Winner: Gavin van Marle, The Loadstar

Sponsored by: Rock-it Global

Technology Journalist of the Year

Highly Commended: Lacey Jones, Container Management

Winner: Paul Berrill, TradeWinds/TW+

Sponsored by: Awery Aviation Software

Multipurpose Cargo Logistics Journalist of the Year

Highly Commended: Megan Ramsay, Freelance

Winner: David Kershaw, Heavy Lift & Project Forwarding International

Sponsored by: AAL Shipping

Rising Star of the Year

Highly Commended: Jack Donnelly, Port Technology International

Winner: Michelle Mooney, Logistics Manager

Sponsored by: TT Club